How to save two times the equipment value each year
Several advantages of automation of unit dose process such as more free time of pharmaceutical. Free space and less problems with personnel are not considered because they are subjective issues and prone to discussions.
We will consider only three issues:
The following calculations are only valid for a 200 beds hospital, but can be escalated by the number of beds.
- Less personnel at unit dose process.
The speed of manual process is of 350 unitarizations per hour. Opus 30X packages and prints 2.600 units per hour. This size of hospital is normally doing 80.000 unitarizations per month. Half part are pills and the other half are vials. Requirement for manual process is no less than 3 people. With Opuspac, only one person can manually cut the blister and repackage with Opus 30X machine in one shift. Economy savings of two operators range from u$s 1,800 up to 8,000 depending on cost of salaries and taxes. Let’s use for this case a value of u$s 2,200
- Less inventory deviations.
Having a high production output with Opuspac, the medicaments arrive to the hospital and in a couple of hours are converted into units. Commercial packages are immediately destroyed which eliminates the value of medicament at the market outside the hospital. Mean value of stock deviation is 3% at several countries and institutions. Some Opuspac’s customers work with figures as low as 0.2 % of deviation. If only 1 % reduction of deviation is considered then the same amount is saved of purchase cost. Evaluating u$s 400,000 monthly purchase the economy is u$s 4,000 per month.
- Less Adverse Events in drug administration and dispensing.
A mean value, according to OMS, 10% of health care processes have one error and 50% of them are preventable. According to Bates, 30% of hospital incidents are related to medication process (prescription, dispensing and drug administration). No less than 30% of them are related to drug administration and 50% have moderated or serious damage. Considering that those adverse events are having an extension of hospital permanence of 3 days at regular cost, the following additional expense due to EA, for a 200 bed hospital with 80% occupation rate, is:
(200 x 80% x 30 days) x (10% x 50%) x (30% x 30 %x 50%) x 3 days x u$s 1,250 /day = u$ 40,500 /month
If only we can save 10% of this amount using the tools of the Opus System, then we can save:
U$S 4,050 / month due to improving the patient`s safety.
The total value of saving is: 2,200 + 4,000 + 4,050 = u$s 10,250 / month.
Discounting the additional cost of packaging material for this hospital size as: u$s 1,250
Net saving = u$s 9,000 / month.
ROI = return on investing = 6 month approximately, varying from country to country depending on taxes.
More than 450 customers already discovered this value.